All Grown Up

Just another WordPress.com site

Hello world!

I figured I’d keep the title WordPress gave me for my first official blog post…it’s only fair since they do this kind of stuff for free, right?

I never realized exactly what social media was capable of until the last few months, as my never-ending job search continues and has taken a path towards social media and marketing online. The doors it opens, and the information becomes accessible at the click of a button is astounding, and apparently limitless. I was the definition of a MySpace kid: extremely flamboyant profile with a ton of html coding that made the background do crazy things, surveys galore, all of my personal information available for the hundreds of millions of users on the site at any given time. Not only was I naive and completely careless in my use of MySpace, I had never realized that it might have advantages beyond making it into my friends “Top Friends” or becoming friends (finally!) with whatever girl I happened to like that week.

I was a late bloomer to Facebook as well, not joining until sometime around my junior year of high school. I relished in the idea that I believed I was never going to jump on the bandwagon that most of my friends and classmates had already become a part of; a bandwagon, I might add, that now has a population larger than most nations in the world, including the United States. Facebook started off very simple but has evolved at a staggering rate to become something that is nearly essential to be a part of in order to stay connected with family, friends, and colleagues.

The Bandwagon

The popularity of sites such as MySpace and Facebook have spurned a revolution in online media and has completely reshaped the virtual world. Within just the past couple of years has the world seen the introduction of the world’s most popular ADD-promoting site, Twitter, as well as countless other social media options such as Foursquare, LinkedIn, and Flickr. These sites have not only made it easier to stay in touch with everyone you’d want to have the pleasure (or pain) to deal with, but millions more beyond them. As I said, it is only within the last few months have I really accepted the direction connectivity has taken and joined the surge towards a virtually-dependent lifestyle; this surge has it’s negatives, but they are overridden by the necessity to stay involved, and evolved, in order to be apart of today’s technologically advanced world.

I decided to start a blog of my own for many reasons, one of which is to simply voice ideas, information, lessons, and observations that I find either incredibly interesting and possibly important as well as things more sophomoric in nature and are just stupid and/or funny (more commonly “and”). Another reason I started a blog is because it is how many professionals have begun to show their worth, talent, and knowledge to others around them and I feel that anyone has the capability of displaying his or her own talents…including myself. Lastly, I started this blog because it is an outlet. An outlet of emotions, of thoughts, of frustrations, of anything that anybody could ever want to voice to the world. It is impossible to know what may be the next great idea in the world, the next great “thing” that catches on and may become the next evolution, or revolution, in the world. If there is even the slightest chance that something I discover, feel, or learn about can change the world in some way, I would want the world to know about it.

Though it is titled “All Grown Up – Lessons Learned” much more than lessons I’ve learned or taught myself will be posted here. Some blogs have a theme, some blogs have a specific purpose; All Grown Up has none of these, it is simply meant to be a place to relay anything and everything that I feel is worth relaying. So enjoy, subscribe, and continue reading!

One response to “Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress June 21, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a comment